Sports Zone

Seven Lady Dawgs earn All-League softball nods

Lady Dawgs receiving All-League softball honors for the 2019 season are (from left, top) Destiney Black, Hallie Drago and Aubrie Hatch; lower: Gracelyn Ehrich, Morgan Janshen, Abbe Grubbs and Izzy Ramirez. Coach Brett Giles (not pictured) was also honored. Gini Davis/The Creswell Chronicle

Seven members of the Creswell Lady Bulldogs softball team and their coach were among the honorees when the Mountain Valley Conference/Special District 4 announced its All-League teams for the 2019 season.
Lady Dawgs garnering First Team honors were sophomore pitcher Destiney Black, senior infielder Hallie Drago and senior outfielder Aubrie Hatch.
The Lady Dawgs finished second in league standings, going to state as MVC second seed before losing to second-ranked Dayton in the 3A state playoffs.
Second Team nods went to sophomore utility player Gracelyn Ehrich, senior utility player Morgan Janshen and freshman catcher Abbe Grubbs.
Izzy Ramirez, a senior, received Honorable Mention as an infielder.
Taytum Hughes, a senior first baseman from Harrisburg, was named Mountain Valley Conference/Special District 4 Player of the Year.
Joining Hughes, Black, Drago and Hatch on the First Team were pitchers Jayda Knox, a Harrisburg sophomore and Carolyn Wilfong, a Santiam Christian sophomore; and catchers Shelby McGuire, a Pleasant Hill senior and Kailey Gurr, a Santiam Christian freshman.
Also named to the First Team were infielders Cynthia Downs, a Harrisburg senior, Hailey Johnson, a Harrisburg sophomore and Aliyah Atkins, a Santiam Christian junior; outfielders Taylor Bennett, a Harrisburg junior, Stella Hucka, a Pleasant Hill freshman and Lorin Devlin, a Santiam Christian sophomore; and utility players/designated hitters Stephanie Westbrook, a La Pine junior and Shea Carley, a Santiam Christian junior.
Named to the Second Team along with Ehrich, Janshen and Grubbs were pitchers Josey Hawkins, a La Pine senior, Chloe Sharr, a Pleasant Hill sophomore, Delaney Buzzard, a Harrisburg freshman, and catcher Sidney Gent, a Harrisburg freshman.
Also named to the Second Team were infielders Quiana Beckes, a Pleasant Hill senior, Makenzie Osborne, a La Pine sophomore, Bayleigh Harrison, a La Pine sophomore, Lara Rupnawar, a Pleasant Hill freshman and Kate Fast, a Santiam Christian freshman; and outfielders Emma Fast, a Santiam Christian freshman and TJ McGill, a Harrisburg junior.
Creswell head coach Brett Giles and Harrisburg head coach David Hughes were named MVC/SD-4 Co-Coaches of the Year.



View this profile on Instagram


The Chronicle (@thechronicle1909) • Instagram photos and videos