Sports Zone

Lady Dawgs garner academic, all-league honors

Lady Dawgs earning All-League softball honors for the 2018 season are (from left) Destiney Black, Kelsey Kuhnhausen, Morgan Janshen and Aubrie Hatch. GINI DAVIS/THE CRESWELL CHRONICLE

Together, the Creswell High softball team compiled a team GPA of 3.89 during the season, netting them the top spot on the OSAA Academic All-State list. In addition, four Lady Bulldogs have earned All-League honors for the 2018 softball season.
”It’s quite an achievement,” Coach Brett Giles said of the academic award. ”It reflects their attention and dedication to their schoolwork even though they spend time practicing, playing games, and on the bus traveling to away games.”
In All-League honors, freshman pitcher Destiney Black, junior catcher Kelsey Kuhnhausen, junior infielder Morgan Janshen and junior utility player/designated hitter Aubrie Hatch were all named to the Mountain Valley Conference Second Team.
Whitney Stone, a senior infielder from Glide was named Mountain Valley Conference Player of the Year as a unanimous selection.
Joining Stone on the MVC First Team are: pitchers Jordan Williams of Glide (unanimous), Haley Brooks of Harrisburg (unanimous) and Josey Hawkins of La Pine; catchers Alyssa Malek of Glide (unanimous) and Cynthia Downs of Harrisburg (unanimous); and first baseman Taytum Hughes of Harrisburg (unanimous).
Also named to the First Team were infielders Allison Michel of Glide (unanimous), Stephanie Pelkey of Harrisburg and Madison Walsworth of La Pine; outfielders Madison Malek of Glide (unanimous), McKayla Winsted of Harrisburg (unanimous), Rhiannon McKinley of Coquille (unanimous), Cheyenne Saul of La Pine and Taylor Davis of Pleasant Hill; and utility player/designated hitters Emily Michel of Glide and Mallory Campbell of Harrisburg.
Joining Black, Kuhnhausen, Janshen and Hatch on the MVC Second Team are: pitcher Tianna Hoffman of Coquille; catchers Jazmine Salazar of Coquille and Shelby McGuire of Pleasant Hill; first baseman Angela Cordonia of La Pine; infielders Montana Skinner of Harrisburg, Kylee Holstad of Pleasant Hill and Saige Gallino of Coquille; outfielder Evie Toruno of La Pine; and utility player/designated hitter Stephanie Westbrook of La Pine.
Receiving MVC Honorable Mention were: first baseman Ruby Livingston of Glide; and infielders Quiana Beckes of Pleasant Hill and Maya Salazar of Coquille.
Steve Williams, head coach of the league champion Glide Wildcats, was named MVC Coach of the Year.



View this profile on Instagram


The Chronicle (@thechronicle1909) • Instagram photos and videos