Community, Springfield

Springfield Public Library announces bookmark contest winners

SPRINGFIELD — This week, a beautiful combination of art and reading unfolded.  

Abigail Craig, youth services librarian, and Emily David, library director, at Monday’s city council meeting noted 16 young artists as the winners of the annual Springfield Public Library Bookmark Contest to the mayor and council. This year, over 1,100 students from kindergarten through 12th grade entered the contest with their unique bookmark concepts. All their designs about reading, libraries, or the theme for the 2024 Summer Reading Program “Read, Renew, Repeat” will be up on display in the Youth Gallery in Springfield City Hall during the month of March. The winning bookmark designs have been professionally printed and will be on display and distributed in the library all year long.

This year’s winners:

• Aria Pech, Kindergarten, Two Rivers – Dos Ríos Elementary

• Izzy Breslow, Kindergarten, Two Rivers- Dos Ríos Elementary

• Graylin Smith, First Grade, Walterville Elementary

• Jesus Florez-Ortiz, First Grade, Two Rivers- Dos Ríos Elementary

• Rowan Robinson, Second Grade, Maple Elementary

• Nathan Olszyk, Second Grade, Maple Elementary

• Luke Jordan, Third Grade, Yolanda Elementary

• Charley Gristak, Third Grade, Homeschool

• Colton Jones, Fourth Grade, Ridgeview Elementary

• Jenny Kurtz, Fourth Grade. Two Rivers- Dos Ríos Elementary

• Mia Daniele, Fifth Grade, Mt. Vernon Elementary

• Ava Dixon, Fifth Grade, Thurston Elementary

Middle school winners:

• Peri Knapp, Sixth Grade, Agnes Stewart Middle School

• Izabelle Nayeli Juarez Humphrey, Sixth Grade, Briggs Middle School

High school winners:

• Audrey Bowman, Ninth Grade, Springfield High

• Waimea Welsh, Ninth Grade, A3 Academy of Arts and Academics



View this profile on Instagram


The Chronicle (@thechronicle1909) • Instagram photos and videos