Frieze, Apo and Dapron add to the trophy cases


Creswell guard Tyler Frieze capped his senior season by earning first team all-state honors, and senior teammate Kai Apo was named to the third team. The two Bulldogs players were recognized as first team all-Mountain Valley Conference players following a third-place finish in the OSAA 3A boys state basketball tournament. 

Frieze already was named conference player of the year. 

Pleasant Hill junior guard Max Smith – also an MVC first team honoree – received all-state honorable mention.

The 3A player of the year was George Sadi, a senior guard from De La Salle North Catholic.

Joining Sadi and Frieze on the first team were St. Mary’s senior post Tre Foster; Oregon Episcopal junior guard/wing Charles Willmott; Cascade Christian junior wing Donminic Lewis and Amity junior post/forward Josh Wart.

Named to the second team were Salem Academy junior forward Benett Bos; Rainier senior guard/forward Conner Rea; Dayton junior guard Dawson Ashley; Nyssa senior guard Pedro Chavez and Oregon Episcopal senior wing/guard Luca Pejovic-Nezhat.

Also on the third team were Sutherlin senior wing Mason Gill; Salem Academy senior guard Luke Miller; Portland Adventist junior forward Andrew Vaughan and Umatilla senior guard Andrew Earl.

Edward Kirk of the Oregon Episcopal Aardvarks is 3A coach of the year.

In March, in addition to Max Smith, three other Pleasant Hill Billies also earned Mountain Valley Conference all-league recognition: senior guard Amar Rupnawar and junior Jayden Casarez were named to the Second Team, while senior Reece Hardy earned Honorable Mention.

On the girls’ side, junior post/forward Brea Dapron was the only Creswell player to earn all-state recognition as she was named to the honorable mention team. She earned MVC first-team honors last month.

Two Pleasant Hill Billies made the 3A state third team: junior guard Angeni Yeo and senior guard Kaylee Martin. Both had been named to the MVC first team.

Shelby Blodgett, a junior forward from Clatskanie, is 3A player of the year.

The rest of the first team: Sutherlin junior guard Jadyn Vermillion; Clatskanie junior guard Olivia Sprague; Burns junior wing/guard Allie Hueckman; Vale junior guard Matyson Siddoway; and Sutherlin senior guard Kiersten Haines.

Second team: De La Salle North Catholic junior guard Chevelle Boyd; Yamhill-Carlton senior guard Aliya Seibel; Brookings-Harbor junior guard Lexi Schofield; Vale junior guard Emersyn Johnson; Santiam Christian junior guard Audrey Miller; and Willamina junior forward/wing Kaya McLean.

Third team: Willamina junior guard Kira Rankin; Brookings-Harbor senior guard Sidney Alexander; Harrisburg senior guard Sammy Christensen and Salem Academy senior guard Kayla Bauldree.

Other honorable mentions: Warrenton senior guard Kenzie Ramsey; Sutherlin junior center Amy Dickover; Brookings-Harbor junior guard Sierra Fitzhugh; Nyssa freshman post Gracie Johnson; South Umpqua senior wing Shalyn Gray; Salem Academy senior post Chloe Baker; Burns sophomore wing/forward Kaitlyn Wright; Oregon Episcopal School freshman guard/wing Cayton Smith; Horizon Christian junior guard/forward Alyssa Smith; Sutherlin freshman guard Micah Wicks; Willamina senior guard Piper Shrabel; Amity senior guard Maylin Williams; Horizon Christian junior forward Grayson Carley and Clatskanie junior post Kaity Sizemore.



View this profile on Instagram


The Chronicle (@thechronicle1909) • Instagram photos and videos