New treaty ensures sustainable management of region’s iconic fish

The parties of the Pacific Salmon Treaty have agreed on new coastwide salmon fishing agreements. The Pacific Salmon Commission is comprised of representatives from Canada, the states of Oregon, Washington and Alaska, and the Northwest and Columbia River Treaty Tribes. Commissioners from the United States and Canada will now forward the agreements to their respective governments for approval.
The 10-year agreement covers fishery plans for Chinook, Coho and Chum salmon stocks from 2019 through 2028. The agreement is an update to the 1985 treaty, which defines the obligations of . . .