The Chronicle -

A reminder from ODOT regarding distracted driving


June 28, 2018

Image provided

Offenses under the state's distracted driving law will begin counting toward elevated sanctions July 1. Here's how penalties can add up:

•First offense, not contributing to a crash: Class B violation, with a fine up to $1,000.

•Second offense, or first offense, if it contributed to a crash: Class A violation, with a fine up to $2,500.

•Third offense in ten years: Class B misdemeanor, with a fine up to $2,500 and potential for six months in jail.

Not being fully focused on the complex task of driving can have disastrous results. From 2012-16 in Oregon, there were 10,814 crashes involving a distracted driver, resulting in 70 fatalities and 16,503 injuries.

Distractions occur in many ways and Oregon's law stresses the need to put your electronic devices aside. As a driver commit to keeping your 'hands on the wheel, mind on the road.'


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 11/08/2019 02:48