■ Springfield’s Sarah Lindley was recognized as the “Outstanding Ph.D. Teaching Student in Economics” at the University of Wyoming’s recent recognition dinner. 

■ Eastern Oregon University named 590 students to the dean’s list for the 2022 winter term, including Courtney Riedel of Cottage Grove and Ann Brady, of Springfield. 

■ SELCO Community Credit Union awarded $52,500 in college scholarships to 20 graduating high school seniors throughout Oregon, including several local students: 

Aaron Pina, Marist Catholic High School, a Springfield resident: $5,000 Richard Metzler Opportunity Scholarship

Halle DeGarlais, Cottage Grove High School: $2,500

Ryan Hinton, Springfield High School: $2,500

Francesca Thuresson, Pleasant Hill High School: $2,500

Priscilla Thurman, Lowell Junior Senior High School: $2,500

Natalie VanderPloeg, Mohawk High School, Marcola: $2,500

Mieli Ward, Thurston High School: $2,500







■ OnPoint announced six finalists for the 2022 Educator of the Year, including one local teacher, Jennifer Krebs, kindergarten teacher for Marcola Elementary School.


Rural school districts receive improvement grants

■ OnPoint Community Credit Union awarded two area schools with $2,000 as part of its Community Builder Award. 

Marcola Elementary School’s Playground Improvement Project supports the improvement or replacement of playground equipment including a broken slide, basketball hoop and tetherball poles. McKenzie School District’s Fire Recovery and Art Therapy Project supports student recovery from the 2020 Holiday Farm Fire through art and music. Funds will be used to purchase art supplies to provide mental health resources to students.